GMA-Nominated rapper Steven Malcolm Unveils ’40’ Music Video & Announces 4th Studio Album ‘BOATS’

Steven Malcolm - 40 Video

Steven Malcolm announces his 4th studio album, BOATS, dropping anchor on February 23, 2024. Today (10/27), fans can pre-add, pre-save, and pre-order the 16-track collection HERE. An official trailer for the project can be viewed HERE.

An acronym for “Based On A Truth Story,” BOATS is poised to transport listeners to a utopia of Malcolm’s creation. “BOATS will take listeners on a journey to Away — an oasis built for the chosen and run by the redeemed,” he shares of the concept behind the record. “Imagine a place where you become what you long to become. Imagine a place where your gift makes a way. Imagine a place where the beauty reflects the ones who protect it, and its foundation is held together by the stories of the broken. Welcome to Away.”

Previewing BOATS, Malcolm keeps the fresh hits coming with “40,” available today. The Hip-Hop heavyweight wages war against his flesh on the all-new original track that leads him into the wilderness bracing for a fight — listen HERE. Additionally, an accompanying music video for “40” premieres today — watch HERE

The sure, steady, anthemic single tests Malcolm’s will, but he knows where his allegiance lies. “This song is one of my personal favorites. I’ve seen and heard of countless brethren falling away from the faith throughout my years of following Christ. And I get it 100% — actually living it, truly experiencing how wide the road to destruction really is,” he shares of the serious message behind the track. “In Scripture, it says Jesus spent 40 days and 40 nights in the desert to be tested. This was a prophecy He fulfilled before setting out to do ministry. I hope this encourages believers to always fight and stay armored up.”

Outfitted with magnetic vocals and thought-provoking lyrics, “40” is the second glimpse into Malcolm’s forthcoming LP, following spiritual workout “Cardio,” which debuted last month.

The Michigan native’s next studio set is the highly anticipated follow-up to his familial 16-track collection, Tree, which recently received a 2023 GMA Dove Award nomination in the Rap/Hip-Hop Album of the Year category. The nod marked Malcolm’s seventh career Dove Award nomination. Last week, Malcolm announced winners in select Dove Award categories when he served as a presenter for the 54th Annual GMA Dove Awards pre-tel, which was streamed across the Gospel Music Association’s social channels ahead of the televised broadcast on Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN).

Pre-Add/Pre-Save/Pre-Order BOATS HERE. For more information, visit

Steven Malcolm BOATS Official Tracklisting:

1.   “Truth Story”

2.   “Mr. Away”

3.   “Cardio”

4.   “Bounce”

5.   “Ten on Eleven”

6.   “Better Days”

7.   “Story of a Rider”

8.   “All on Me”

9.   “On Time God (Interlude)”

10. “Never Let Me Go”

11. “Nothing Into Something”

12. “Enough (feat. Anderson Michael)”

13. “40”

14. “Paper Plane”

15. “Everything I Need”

16. “Not Alone”

Yoel Molina Law

Leave a Comment