Kxng Crooked Announces New Album & Releases First Single ‘Truth’ ft. Royce 5’9″

Kxng Crooked Announces New Album & Releases First Single 'Truth' ft. Royce 5'9"

Kxng Crooked announces new album and releases ‘Truth’ single featuring Royce 5’9″.

Almost a year ago (11-11-16 to be exact) today, Kxng Crooked released a manifesto in the form of Good Vs Evil.  To rewind, Donald Trump had just been elected the 45th President in one of our most controversial presidential elections, divisiveness infiltrated every aspect of the populous, governmental agencies were willingly pumping poison into its communities, protests were raging in the streets, unprovoked police brutality was rampant (with zero accountability) and the societal divide widened with each passing day.

With a seemingly basic disregard for human rights, it was understood that we were living in a complicated and dangerous time.  People were in search of answers and a unifying message; Kxng Crooked’s Good Vs Evil could not have appeared at a more needed time as he delivered a project that stared into the face of oppression and struck a nerve.

Though it seems counter-intuitive and unimaginative, the year that has passed in-between has led us even further astray.  In 274 days, The Donald Trump era has borne witness to fake news, championing racism, bigotry, separatism, sexism and a general contempt for rule of law.  Further, he continues his quest to eradicate the health care of millions, advocated a foreign government meddling in an election, diminished our standing in the International community and has displayed more concern about selling pumpkin MAGA (Make America Great Again) hats and the behavior of NFL football players; then he has for the well-being of the citizens he is sworn to uphold.

Welcome to the new normal!

Thankfully, Kxng Crooked’s Good Vs Evil 2: The Red Empire picks up right where its predecessor left off. On the surface, Good Vs Evil 2 is the epitome of woke; a politically and socially conscious decree that demands to be heard and processed.  At its core, it’s designed to be the theme music that Colin Kapernick and a generation can proudly knell to.

“When I first started creating Good Vs Evil I wondered how I would get my audience to listen to a project covering social injustice, racism, classism etc. in a climate where most rappers are making music about poppin’ Xanax and drinking lean” Crooked commented. “My immediate afterthought was who gives a fuck what other artists are doing, Hip-Hop needs this album! Look at the world today. We have a president whose ex-wife is on record saying she was raped by him. We have police officers who are on film killing unarmed citizens with no consequences. We have entire cities like Flint, MI drinking poisonous water. Good Vs Evil 2 is just as necessary as part one. From the production to the content to the music sequencing to the artwork everything is designed to provoke thought. And the shit slaps too!”

Related: Kxng Crooked ft. Iliana Eve & Mike Smith – Too Ashamed

Good Vs Evil 2 is just as incendiary, authentic and unapologetic as its predecessor and that is evident by the projects cover art and first single, “Truth” (Why You Mad) as one half of Slaughterhouse (Crooked and Royce 5’9”) reunite to drop bars on the right wing. “There are a few messages I wanted the artwork to communicate” Crooked asserted.  “One is the thin line between good and evil. Sometimes there’s light in villains and darkness in heroes. I also added a figure that may be a bit controversial and that’s the widely accepted image of Jesus Christ. No shot at Christians, but that particular image of Christ symbolizes death, slavery and colonization to many. Most American slave masters and the Klu Klux Klan members hang that image on their walls and truly believe themselves to be Christians. I’m trying to open doors to taboo conversations. And lastly, the Trump figure is “Red Hood,” the albums new enemy of justice being inducted into the Tyrants club and kneeling like the football players for what he believes in; hatred and division.”

KXNG Crooked Good Vs Evil 2: The Red Empire 12-8-2017

Tracklisting and Credits for Kxng Crooked’s Good Vs Evil 2: The Red Empire:

  1. ‘Wake Up Show Intro’ f/ Sway & King Tech
  2. ‘The MAGA Continues’ (Produced By Lavish)
  3. ‘Red Hood’s Plot’ (Hahahaha) (Produced By Lavish)
  4. ‘GiveUDatHammer’ (Produced By Aktive)
  5. ‘Revolution Come’ f/ Jai (Produced By Snaz)
  6. ‘Truth’ (Why You Mad) f/ Royce 5’9”(Produced By C-Wash)
  7. ‘Shoot Back 2’ (Dear Officer) (Produced By Jay Wash)
  8. ‘Adderall Addicts’ (Produced By C-Wash)
  9. ‘Cowboy Bebop’ (Produced By Illeagle)
  10. ‘Thug Poetry’ f/ Jay Townsend (Produced By Snaz)
  11. ‘City Lights’ (Produced By ENG)
  12. ‘Brainwashed Ni666a’ (Produced By Audio Jones)
  13. ‘Stand’ f/ Styles P & Emanny (Produced By Lavish)
  14. ‘Mace Windu’ (Produced By MR Authentic)


Yoel Molina Law

Leave a Comment