Mello Music Group – Helpless Dreamer

Over the course of 2018-2019, to celebrate our upcoming tenth anniversary, Mello Music Group has been releasing special Audiophile Editions of their classic titles on vinyl.

The Mello Signature Series will be pressed on double LPs, limited to 300 copies of each title, on 180 gram black vinyl, with special gatefold packaging, including liner note stories from Mello about the creation of each title. Available exclusively at Fat Beats.

Before Mello Music Group existed, there were Mello Mixtapes. They were a collection of the new music featuring local artists we wanted to show support for and exclusives we were beginning to build. We put together cover art, mixed the tracks, and burnt them on CD-Rs. Then, we went around the city getting them in people’s hands. While listening to so much new music and trying to find my place in Hip-hop, it was a creative outlet. 

Years later, the first official Mello Music Group compilation, “Helpless Dreamer,” was a way to continue that passion while the business of running a label began to take up more of our time. Creating the Mello compilation allowed me a chance to look for beats, imagine collaborations, curate a cohesive sound, and create artwork. The intention was to highlight the artists on the label but also bring attention to those we were working with or hoped to work with. The compilation became a perfect way to reach out to new artists and create new music with our team.

It’s special to release “Helpless Dreamer” for the first time on vinyl for our 10th Anniversary Audiophile Series. The original cover artwork was created by Kansas City standout artist Aaron Sutton of Visual Goodies. For this special edition, Aaron has allowed us to include an additional piece of his titled “Spirit Line” for the inside of the gatefold.

Track Listing

  1. From The Top (feat. Stik Figa) (prod. Dunc & Oddisee)
  2. Birds & Bees (feat. Diamond District) (prod. Oddisee)
  3. Official (feat. Kenn Starr) (prod. Just Wright)
  4. This Is It (feat. yU) (prod. SlimKat 78)
  5. Different Now (feat. Oddisee & Toine) (prod. Oddisee)
  6. Home Comes First (feat. Kenn Starr & Finale) (prod. Apollo Brown)
  7. Judas Priest (feat. Buff1 & Magestik Legend) (prod. Apollo Brown)
  8. Don’t Sleep (feat. Invincible & Finale) (prod. Black Milk)
  9. Black Rose (feat. Has-Lo)
  10. FuxWitDat (feat. Has-Lo)
  11. Helpless Dreamer (feat. Roc Marciano, XO & Tranquil) (prod. Apollo Brown)
  12. For The Win (feat. Fresh Daily)
  13. July 27th 2010 (feat. Oddisee)

Leave a Comment