DJ Muggs Releases ‘Soul Assassins 3: Death Valley’ LP Feat. Ghostface, Westside Gunn, Freddie Gibbs, Boldy James, Ice Cube & More

DJ Muggs - Soul Assassins 3: Death Valley (LP)

DJ Muggs drops “Soul Assassins 3: Death Valley” album.

DJ Muggs is an undisputed legend. Over the course of his distinguished and diverse career, he has conquered music in not only multiple genres but multiple languages.  As the creator and producer of Cypress Hill, the multiple-time Grammy Award nominee has overseen the production of four platinum and three gold albums, traveled the world many times over, with Cypress Hill as headliner, a major festival regular, and performed in front of millions of fans.  Longtime Cypress Hill documentarian Estevan Oriol masterfully captured Cypress’ musical/cultural influence and legacy with his 2022 Showtime Film Insane In The Brain.

While Cypress Hill is a full-time + undertaking, Muggs also remains extremely active as a solo artist.  Not only has he produced hits for Cypress Hill, but he’s also responsible for indelible classics like House Of Pain’s “Jump Around,” and Ice Cube’s “Check Yourself,” was tapped to remix for U2, Janet Jackson and Depeche Mode and produced gems with MF Doom, Westside Gunn, GZA, Action Bronson, Conway The Machine and many, many more.

In the last few years, Muggs has been more active than ever.  Releasing collaborative projects with Mach-Hommy, Roc Marciano, Yelawolf, Rome Streetz, Jay Worthy, and most recently Champagne For Breakfast with Meyhem Lauren and Madlib.  

Yet, his Soul Assassins albums have always held a special place in the hearts of fans.  Muggs Presents: The Soul Assassins Chapter 1 (1997) was his first solo studio album and featured collaborations with Dr. Dre, B-Real, RZA, GZA, Mobb Deep, Goodie Mob, KRS-One, MC Eiht, and Wyclef Jean.  He returned to form with Soul Assassins II (2000) which featured collaborations with Xzibit, Cypress Hill, GZA, Goodie Mob, Kool G Rap, Dilated Peoples, Kurupt, Ras Kass and Everlast.  The third installment in the Soul Assassins series, Intermission, was released in 2009 and proved to be aptly-titled; until now.

Yoel Molina Law

Leave a Comment