Apollo Brown & Skyzoo ft. Joell Ortiz – A Couple Dollars

Apollo Brown and Skyzoo release “A Couple Dollars” featuring Joell Ortiz.

After years of mutual respect, circling each other in collaborations, tours, style and respect, two titans of their craft have finally collided in Apollo Brown & Skyzoo’s The Easy Truth. The album is everything you’ve dreamt it would be: breakneck instrumentals and syllables crafted to make your head spin. The marriage between Detroit instrumentals and NYC wordplay has never been more cohesive. Themes range from police brutality to NY ambitions; Skyzoo shows you the world the way he sees it.

Recorded and produced in Detroit, The Easy Truth, is the perfect distillation of hip-hop influences. Every moment on the album is a loaded question, a perspective positing a notion of truth, the convergence of grit and symphony.

Joining the artists on the record are Joell Ortiz, Westside Gunn, Stalley, Conway and Patty Crash (who guested on The Roots single “Never”), a reciprocal band of guests that only add depth and richness to the duo’s chemistry. Coming September 30th, The Easy Truth, is true to its titular description: honest, fluid, and organic.

“For me, this record is a personal favorite of mine because of what it represents as far as my perspective. Coming up, I saw certain things in my neighborhood, which led to certain aspirations, which led to motivation of all sorts. This record is about how those things come about, and how they started in the first place, dating back 400+ years ago, as pointed out in the second verse. This song stands as another testament to who, what, when, where and why as far as how it is in my neighborhood”. Skyzoo

Apollo Brown & Skyzoo ft. Joell Ortiz - A Couple Dollars

Tracklist For Apollo Brown & Skyzoo’s The Easy Truth:

1.) “Soapbox”

2.) “One In The Same” f/ Patty Crash

3.)  “Jordans & A Gold Chain”

4.)  “A Couple Dollars” f/ Joell Ortiz

5.)  “Basquiat On The Draw” f/ Westside Gunn & Conway

6.)  “The Vibes”

7.)  “On The Stretch & Bob Show”

8.)  “Spoils To The Victor”

9.)  “Visionary Riches”

10.)  “They Parked A Bentley On The Corner”

11.)  “The Flyest Essence”

12.)  “Innocent Ambition”

13.)  “Care Package”

14.)  “Payout” f/ Stalley

15.)  “Nodding Off”

***All tracks produced by Apollo Brown

Yoel Molina Law

Leave a Comment